Online Reference Databases

The Lake County Library System offers free access to online reference databases to library patrons. An online database is a computerized collection of information on a specific subject or area. All of these databases serve as electronic libraries that contain enormous amounts of information. Patrons can access most of these databases from computers at any library or from a home, school or work computer that has internet. All you will need is your library card number.

All residents may contact the Lake County Library System library of their choice for a free library card.

If you have difficulty accessing one of these databases, the problem may be in the configuration of your browser or the setup of your internet service provider.

Digital Media

Overdrive/Libby Catalog
Overdrive has thousands of ebooks, audiobooks and movies to stream. You can access content on your computer's browser, or download the app on your phone or tablet. Libby has the same selection of ebooks and audiobooks as Overdrive, but with a smoother design and available only on your phone or tablet.

Employment Resources

Employ Florida Marketplace
Employ Florida Marketplace is your one-stop online resource for job listings, education and training opportunities, career building assistance and much more.

Occupational Outlook Handbook
The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a publication of the U.S. Department of Labor's Bureau of Labor Statistics that includes information about the nature of work, working conditions, training and education, earnings, and job outlook for hundreds of different occupations. - See more at: http://www.flelibrary.org/all.php#sthash.DMi1k9WW.dpuf

Florida One-Stop Career Centers
From training to job searches, Florida's One-Stop Career Centers provide a full range of assistance for the jobseeker. Find Information at the state's 73 Full Service or 25 Satellite One-Stop Career Centers or 2 Business Centers.

Genealogy

Ancestry Library (Only Usable at a Library Location)
Extensive resources for genealogical research. Includes U.S. Census records, military records, the Social Security Death Index, passenger lists, the Daughters of the Revolution (DAR) Lineage Books, slave narratives, Dictionary of American Biography, Native American indexes, and the American Genealogical-Biographical Index.

HeritageQuest Online
A resource for census data, family records, and local histories. This collection assembles every extant U.S. federal census, family genealogies, local histories, tax lists, city directories, land and probate records, birth, marriage and death records, genealogical and local history serials, and more.

Florida Memory Project
The Online Classroom is designed to help educators use photographs, documents, sound recordings and film footage from the State Library and Archives of Florida. The Online Classroom also showcases collaborative projects between the State Library and Archives of Florida and Florida schools. These projects help students make a personal connection to the primary source documents that tell the stories of their communities.

Lifelong Learning

Pronunciator
Pronunciator is the library's online language learning tool, with over 160+ languages to choose from. Pronunciator also has the largest ESL curriculum on the planet! This resources uses flashcards, drills, quizzes, audio lessons, grammar guides, full-length movies, music and more to help you learn. Unique courses are also available, including 8-week travel prep, healthcare phrases and job interview prep.

ABC Mouse
ABCmouse.com is an educational website for young children that provides online learning activities for 2-6 year olds at preschool, pre-K, and kindergarten levels. ABCmouse.com offers free access for all public schools in the U.S. and Canada and a selection of free content for the general public. Full access to the site’s curriculum and features is available to a subscription-based membership. This resource is only available while inside a library.

LinkedIn Learning
LinkedIn Learning offers video courses taught by industry experts in software, creative, and business skills. It is a subsidiary of LinkedIn. Users have access to over 16,000 courses in 7 languages, including English, Spanish, German, French, Japanese, Mandarin and Brazilian Portuguese. Certificates of course completion are also available. Due to privacy concerns, library patron names will not be shown on completed course certificates. Patrons may sign up for their own personal LinkedIn Learning account (separate from the library account) to have their names added to completed course certificates. Please note that LinkedIn Learning accounts cannot be merged. -- This project was funded under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act from the Institute of Museum and Library Services. Florida’s LSTA program is administered by the Department of State’s Division of Library and Information Services.

Tutor.com
Tutor.com offers one-to-one sessions for students in grades K-12 schools, college students, graduate school students, and career resources. It connects learners with qualified, expert tutors online, on-demand, 24/7, 361 days of the year. Students can choose from 200 academic subjects and test preparation.

Periodicals

Flipster Digital Magazine Catalog
Flipster is an online collection with dozens of digital magazines offered through your library website. All you will need is a library card to access it on your computer browser, Android, Apple or Kindle device. The best part...no late fees!

Reference

Florida Electronic Library
A collection of free databases and live reference services available to all Florida residents. The Florida Electronic Library (FEL) is a gateway to electronic magazines, newspapers, almanacs, encyclopedias and books, and the Ask a Librarian reference service.

AtoZdatabases
AtoZdatabases is the premier job search, reference and mailing list database. It provides details on every business and household in the U.S. The database also includes 2.3 million job listings, 30 million business profiles, 1.1 million healthcare professionals, and much more. AtoZdatabases is ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, or finding friends and relatives. The database will help entrepreneurs conduct prospecting, help students complete market studies, and more.

WorldCat
The world's most comprehensive bibliography, representing over 400 languages on materials ranging from stone tables to electronic books. WorldCat includes information from 2100 BC to the present with thousands of records containing evaluative content such as tables of contents, cover art, book summaries and notes about the authors.