All of the libraries in Florida have access to the Florida Electronic Library. Additionally, the Lake County Library System subscribes to the databases listed below to supplement the Florida Electronic Library.
Some of our databases provide helpful online tours or tutorials of the database. If a tutorial is available, we have provided the link for you indicated with "Online Tutorial". If you have difficulty accessing one of these databases, the problem may be in the configuration of your browser or the setup of your internet service provider.
Florida Electronic Library
A collection of free databases and live reference services available to all Florida residents. It is the result of statewide collaboration between public, academic, private, and special libraries and is funded by a federal Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) grant administered by the Florida Division of Library and Information Services, Florida Department of State.
Ancestry Library
Extensive resources for genealogical research. Includes U.S. Census records, military records, the Social Security Death Index, passenger lists, the Daughters of the Revolution (DAR) Lineage Books, slave narratives, Dictionary of American Biography, Native American indexes, and the American Genealogical-Biographical Index
Remote access is not available for this service. Please visit your local library to access this resource.
HeritageQuest Online
A resource for census data, family records, and local histories. This collection assembles every extant U.S. federal census, family genealogies, local histories, tax lists, city directories, land and probate records, birth, marriage and death records, genealogical and local history serials, and more.
NewsBank
Offers abstracts and selected full-text articles from domestic and international newspapers. Also includes America's Obituaries & Death Notices
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to web sites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
ReferenceUSA
Directory for U.S. and Canadian residents, businesses and health care providers.
Rosetta Stone
Start speaking another language with ease using Rosetta Stone. This powerful software will help you build a foundation of fundamental vocabulary and essential language structure. From the simple to the complex, gain the confidence to share your ideas and opinions in your new language. Check with a library to learn what languages are available at your library.
Remote access is not available for this service. Please visit your local library to access this resource.