Databases Listed By Subject
All of the libraries in Florida have access to the Florida Electronic Library. Additionally, the Lake County Library System subscribes to the databases listed below to supplement the Florida Electronic Library.
Some of our databases provide helpful online tours or tutorials of the database. If a tutorial is available, we have provided a link for you. If you have difficulty accessing one of these databases, the problem may be in the configuration of your browser or the setup of your internet service provider.
Business and Investment Data
Encyclopedias, Directories, Biography, and Comprehensive Sources
Biography Resource Center
Biographical information on people throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines.
Florida Electronic Library
A collection of free databases and live reference services available to all Florida residents. It is the result of statewide collaboration between public, academic, private, and special libraries and is funded by a federal Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) grant administered by the Florida Division of Library and Information Services, Florida Department of State.
ReferenceUSA
Directory for U.S. and Canadian residents, businesses and health care providers.
Westlaw
Westlaw is an extensive online database containing federal and state case law, statutes, regulations, and legal periodicals. It largely eliminates the need to look at print materials and speeds up research by searching across large volumes of material with one search. It is available to attorneys and public at any public computer in any one of the Lake County Library System libraries.
Remote access is not available for this service. Please visit your local library to access this resource.
Auto Reference Repair Center
Auto Repair Reference Center includes information on models of vehicles based on the model year. Also includes Car and Repair Tips.
Genealogy
Ancestry Library
Extensive resources for genealogical research. Includes U.S. Census records, military records, the Social Security Death Index, passenger lists, the Daughters of the Revolution (DAR) Lineage Books, slave narratives, Dictionary of American Biography, Native American indexes, and the American Genealogical-Biographical Index
Remote access is not available for this service. Please visit your local library to access this resource.
HeritageQuest Online
A resource for census data, family records, and local histories. This collection assembles every extant U.S. federal census, family genealogies, local histories, tax lists, city directories, land and probate records, birth, marriage and death records, genealogical and local history serials, and more.
Literature
NoveList
Book discussion guides, book talks and feature articles with author, title and genre comparison search.
Magazines and Newspapers
NewsBank
Offers abstracts and selected full-text articles from domestic and international newspapers.
Students
LearningExpress Library
An interactive collection of practice tests and tutorial courses including scoring, answer explanations and analysis of test results. LearningExpress Library users need set up a profile including a username and password in order to use this resource.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to web sites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.